Bridgestone BSMA Clubman’s Comes to a Close for 2014

The 6th and final round of the Bridgestone BSMA Clubman’s Series


10609723_860839327261924_5910487930572598362_nThe final round of the Bridgestone BSMA Clubman’s Series was held at Penybont in perfect weather conditions on a superbly prepared track with every point counting towards the overall results.


The programme started with Automatics who coped really well on this hilly welsh track. Roan Delaney dominating this round with 4 super wins but a crash in race 4 when the first 3 went down on the same slow corner allowing Zac Dunton to gain his only win of the weekend, altering the overall series dramatically. Roan taking top spot over the weekend with a consistent Jake Randall runner up. Zac Dunton gained 3rd equal on points with Oli Wheeler, with Rheanna Morgan Rogers producing her best form of the season, hole shotting and always up the front, this young lady was very impressive, Sion Evans completing the top 6.

Local Junior rider Trystan Williams was really on form with 3 wins and 2 thirds usually coming charging through the field to take 1st place Billy Duke having his best weekend usually having to take the runner up spot behind Charlie Palmer, with 3 seconds and a 4th race win took a good 2nd on the podium. The series championship would depend on Charlies luck on the day, uncharacteristically dropping it a couple of times and strong riding by Tomos Wright who took 3rd place relegating him to 4th spoiling the overall result. Kian Thomas surprised a few people as he excelled on day 1 but could not maintain his form on day 2. Carwyn Rosser finished the weekend in 6th spot to complete the weekend standings.

Small Wheel 85 ace Dominic Lancett with 4 race wins and a 2nd in race 4 was well clear on the weekend and in the series. Runner up James Hanscombe winning race 3 and usually in the lead could not hold off Lancett but had a super day and series. Callum Beekan with more than his share of injuries this year was back in action and whilst up with the leaders suffered a puncture but he finished a creditable 3rd. Jaydon Murphy with 3 excellent results and 2 crashes finished 1 point ahead of a very competitive James Smith 5th with Kyle Biggs 6th.


Big Wheel 85 pilot Brooklyn Evans took maximum points with battling display and once in front was never challenged. Nathan Bache charged hard all weekend crashing heavily a couple of times really earned his podium position. Mikey Watson holeshotting a couple of races was always in contention despite his first 2 races outside the top 6 he improved with 3 third positions to take 3rd overall. Jamie Evans started runner up spot but was unable to maintain his form finished 4th ahead of Aaron Colley and Joseph Davies.

Senior racing the most competive group saw Dan Wheeler winning the first 2 motos rode safe in the remainder of his races to protect his overall and days results. Kieron Cooke a superb 2nd in race 1 had major problems in race 2 with mechanical problems but he set the track alight for his final 3 races thrilling the crowd as he built up a substantial lead good enough to gain 2nd overall. Jack Biddle and Alex Walton all finishing equal on points with Kieron, Alex dropping the bike whilst in the lead in race 4 could easily have been runner up. Ieuan Morgan saved his best form till last had a 3rd in race 4 with John Collins completing the top 6.


AMX rider Karl Haycock took maximum points but he battled hard to get to the front but was never challenged at the flag, Bridgestone mounted Rob Yates another impressive ride with 2 3rds finishing off with 3 second spots aboard his 125cc. Dain Traylor finishing the weekend with consistent results was 3rd, Chris Grindle finishing almost last with a puncture in race 1 raced well to gain 2 2nd places and 2 3rd places behind Rob on day 2. Luke Howlett and Kevin Curtin just 1 point between them completed the top 6.


AMX Open went to Shaun Buchan who had a 5 race battle with the fast starting Jonathan Roderick Evans who won races 1 and 2, Shaun taking 3 and 4. With everything depending on the final race, a DNF late on for Evans giving the overall to Buchan with Ryan Bawn taking full advantage to take runner up from Ryan Nicholls in 3rd, Gareth Hudson 4th the unlucky Evans 5th with Jason Barry 6th.


Vets Open winner was Neil Thomas never out of the top 3 and taking the spoils on race 2 Lee Barrett was well clear in 2nd from Richard Roderick 3rd Andrew Rockey took 4th, Steve Roderick Evans was 5th with Stuart Rawlings 6th who took 3 super unchallenged wins on day 1 but he did not compete on day 2.

VETS 125cc – Fred Smith had a great weekend with a 2nd in his opener to Wynne Pickersgill, but he picked up the pace to finish unchallenged in his next 4 races. Bridgestone mounted Mark White finished 2nd with another Bridgestone mounted rider Mark Fereday in 3rd.

With the West Midlands Evo only doing the second day provided some good entertainment on these pre 85 machines, overall in the open group was a real battle with Nick Selwyn winning the opener but despite all his efforts he could not get the better of Carl Pope in race 2. Everything depended on race 3 but it was Pope who took the spoils from Selwyn in close contention. Kevin Butcher fast out of the gate took 3rd.

In the West mids Evo 125cc group the results went to Anthony Giles well clear on points of Paul Mansall with Nigel Green the West Mids Series co- coordinator in 3rd, with a good line up of riders everyone taking a lot of interest in these older bikes.



1st Roan Delaney

2nd Jake Randle

3rd Zac Dunton

4th Oli Wheeler

5th Rheanna Morgan Rogers

6th Sion Evans

7th Levi Davies

8th Tyler Shedden

9th Solomon Levey

10th Jack Viner




1st Trystan Willams

2nd Billy Duke

3rd Tomos Wright

4th Charlie Palmer

5th Kian Thomas

6th Carwyn Rosser

7th Ben Pratt

8th Matt Tolley

9th Billy Simpson

10th Ethan Sills




1st Dominic Lancett

2nd James Hanscombe

3rd Callum Beekan

4th Jaydon Murphy

5th James Smith

6th Kyle Biggs

7th Jack Samuels

8th Matthew Harries

9th Billy Jones

10th Marshall Smith




1st Brooklyn Evans

2nd Nathan Bache

3rd Mikey Watson

4th Jamie Evans

5th Aaron Colley

6th Joseph Davies

7th Morgan McConnell

8th Jordan Riley

9th Dean Palmer

10th Giles Jones




1st Dan Wheeler

2nd Kieran Cooke

3rd Jack Biddle

4th Alex Walton

5th Ieuan Morgan

6th John Collins

7th Jamie Crump

8th Danny Troughton

9th Ieuan Harris

10th Gareth Williams




1st Karl Haycock

2nd Ron Yates

3rd Dain Traylor

4th Christopher Grindle

5th Luke Howlett




1st Shaun Buchan

2nd Ryan Bawn

3rd Ryan Nicholls

4th Gareth Hudson

5th Jonathan Roderick Evans




1st Fred Smith

2nd Mark White

3rd Mark Fereday



1st Neil Thomas

2nd Lee Barrett

3rd Richard Roderick

4th Andrew Rockey

5th Steve Roderick Evans


West Mids Evo pre 85


1st Carl Pope

2nd Nick Selwyn

3rd Kevin Butcher


125cc Pre 85

1st Anthony Giles

2nd Paul Mansall

3rd Nigel Green