Chippenham Race Report

Finally, the weather held out for the third round of the East Anglia Schoolboy Scrambling Clubs Summer Championship, where the sun was shining down on the popular sand track of Wildtracks.


After some heavy rain on the Saturday and overnight, the track was rather wet and deep in places on Sunday morning. However throughout the day, it dried out to make some perfect conditions for a great days racing with near full line ups in every group.


First up to help with the track conditions were the Seniors with some tight battles and constant changing of positions within the top six riders. Joe Borrett took the top spot with two holeshots and a win in the last race. Sid Evans put up a great battle throughout the day to clinch second with Russell Cramp having a consistent day securing him third. Some outstanding riding from Jordan Pasquale who led the last race for a while see him in fourth with Ashley Campbell finishing fifth.


Super Shaun Southgate was the top rider in the AMX Open Group who wasted no time in storming to the front claiming a maximum overall. Junior Thomas had problems in the first race, but showed some impressive riding in the last two to take second spot. Charlie Heatley battled hard in all three motos to claim a well deserved third. Mark Sharman and Craig Down rounded out the top five.


Next to battle it out in the deep rutty sand was the AMX group with some stiff competition. Arron Jenner was on top form taking a maximum overall however Carl Parker made him work off the start in two races. Carl took two holeshots and showed some impressive riding to take second overall. Mark Hunt had some great battles throughout the day to snatch third position with Paul Kilsby and John Eaton finishing off the top five.


The AMX Veterans were privileged to again have their own race with a great number of riders rather than being mixed with the AMX Open. Tim Clarke dominated this group taking first overall with three race victory’s. Paul Willis and Matt French battled it out throughout the day for podium positions. Paul came out on top with two seconds and a third., with Matt having to settle with third place overall. Chris Keeble and Brian Carter rode with great determination to secure fourth and fifth.


Now it was time for the young guns to take to the track who struggled in places with the boggy conditions, but worked hard having some great battles throughout the field.


Turbo Tommy Schofield was on form once again in the 85cc big wheels winning all three races to take the maximum overall. Second place went to Joshua Keeble who had a consistent days racing gaining second in all three races. Michael Eggett took home third with Jack Carter and Kyle Wilby rounding out the top five.






The small-wheel 85cc group was a small group this weekend however had some tight competition within the top three riders. Lewis Cloud came out on top with two race wins and a second. Drew Anderson battled his way to second overall with Ryan Allison finishing in third with a holeshot in the last race. Daniel Sultana and Carl Budge put on a great performance finishing in the top five.


Next on the line were the Junior 65’s who found the track difficult in places to begin with, however showed some smooth riding towards the end of the day. Ike Carter dominated the group taking three holeshots and race wins to take the top spot on the podium. The next four riders had some great battles out in the sunshine with Bobby Bruce claiming second spot and Olly Davidson settling for third with some outstanding riding. Jordan Gull and Tai Elvin-Andrews were close behind in fourth and fifth.


The Autos was dominated by Harvey Cashmore with three straight wins giving him a maximum overall. Club rider Callam Murfitt had an impressive days riding battling his way to second with Alfie Jones being awarded third place. Freddie Wyard and Harrison Borg both had a great days riding finishing in the top five.


The sun was shining; the track was perfect; EASSC would like to thank all riders and spectators for attending the third Club Championship round. We look forward to seeing you at the next race and lets hope the weather stays this way!!


Autos: 1 Harvey Cashmore, 2 Callam Murfitt, 3 Alfie Jones, 4 Freddie Wyard, 5 Harrison Borg, 6 Billy Moriarty.


Junior 65cc: 1 Ike Carter, 2 Bobby Bruce, 3 Olly Davidson, 4 Jordan Gull, 5 Tai Elvin-Andrews, 6 Kayden Algar.


Small-wheel 85cc: 1 Lewis Cloud, 2 Drew Anderson, 3 Ryan Allison, 4 Daniel Sultana, 5 Carl Budge, 6 Jay Perry.


Big-wheel 85cc: 1 Tommie Schofield, 2 Joshua Keeble, 3 Michael Eggett, 4 Jack Carter, 5 Kyle Wilby, 6 Connor Cramp.


Seniors: 1 Joe Borrett, 2 Sid Evans, 3 Russell Cramp, 4 Jordan Pasquale, 5 Ashley Campbell, 6 Harry Mills.


AMX: 1 Arron Jenner, 2 Carl Parker, 3 Mark Hunt, 4 Paul Kilsby, 5 John Eaton, 6 Sean Bardwell.


AMX Open: 1 Shaun Southgate, 2 Junior Thomas, 3 Charlie Heatley, 4 Mark Sharman, 5 Craig Down, 6 Glen Bixby.


AMX Vets: 1 Tim Clark, 2 Paul Willis, 3 Matt French, 4 Chris Keeble, 5 Brian Carter, 6 Richard Paxman.