East Anglia Meeting at Newly Reopened Mepal

The East Anglia Schoolboy Scrambling Club were proud hold their first round of the Summer Championship at the demanding revamped Mepal Motopark. This was the first weekend that Mepal had re-opened under the new management of Mr Stuart Nunn and Mr Martin Wright and we were very grateful for all their help.  The track was in excellent shape it had been prepared superbly by Stuart, the riders thoroughly enjoyed riding there.

 Also a big thanks must go to Pro Green for sponsoring the meeting.  They had initially been going to sponsor our winter series but with this winter being truly wintery  this never took place. Steve had brought along his Pro Green stand for the day and gave the top three riders in each group a goody bag of products.  We look forward to him being more involved in club sponsorship this year.

A very cold morning greeted the riders however this did not dampen their spirits. The track was in perfect condition for a great days racing.

To open the season with a very big line up, were the Autos who  took to the track having some exciting battles throughout the field. With some fantastic riding, Kiean Boughen came out on top with the overall win. Closely followed by Callam Murfitt and Ethan Martin for joint second with Callam coming out on top.


GetAttachment (5)Next to hit the track was the junior 65cc class with some great racing from the youngsters. Ike Carter wasted no time in charging to the front to take the first and second victory which was enough to take the overall. Second place went to Reece Martin with some impressive riding taking two second places and a win in the last race. Buster Hart claimed third with Tai Elvin-Andrews and Frank Cutmore rounding out the top five.


The team green rider of Dylan Woodcock dominated the smallwheel 85cc group with three straight wins securing him the maximum overall. Archie Osmaston and Gary Ashley battled hard throughout the day with some great racing. Archie clinched second overall followed by Gary in third. Perry Galloway gained a well deserved fourth overall with Calum Mitchell in fifth.


Turbo Tommie Schofield was next to grab yet another maximum overall in the big wheel 85cc class, with some outstanding riding from the youngster. A solid second place went to Todd Ritchie with three consecutive third place finishes. Connor Hughes was the man to take third overall with a crash in the first race, but bounced back to grab second place in the next two moto’s. Joel’e Hart and Toby Avis rounded out the top five.


Now it was time for the bigger bikes to cut up the bottomless sand pit of Mepal Motopark with some excellent riders attending the EASSC season opener. This provided some very good racing for all the spectators keeping everyone on edge with their fast, tight racing.


Next to brave the sand was the fully stacked AMX group Arron Jenner ran away with first overall with some super smooth riding and another maximum for the day. Carl Hayward and Rob Nicholl completed the top 3 with Dean Hakes taking forth and Sean Bardwell in fifth.


Next out were the AMXVETS  which, for this meeting, due to the AMX class being oversubscribed had their own race, with some great racing from the veteran’s. Matt French grabbed the first two wins of the day but after problems in the last race, finished the day in third overall.  Richard Paxman went on to take first overall with some consistent riding and a win in the last race. A well deserved second went to Lee Scott. To round out the top five was Bob Kavanagh with some impressive riding and real determination. Adrian Coppen was just in front of him for fourth overall.


The  AMX OPEN class were always in for a hard battle with some stiff competition, some top class riders, and a near on full line gate. Ryan Houghton showed everyone how to ride deep sand with an impressive display of top notch riding throughout the whole day, claiming the top spot in all three motos. A strong ride from George Baldwin saw him clinch second overall with a consistent day. Aaron Pipon, Steve Bixby and Harry McKenna finished off the top five with some outstanding racing.


GetAttachment (3)Last but not least onto the track were the Seniors this saw yet another maximum of  the day in the form of Oliver Osmaston who, stormed off with all three race wins. Second place overall was Joe Bamfield with Lewis Houghton third. Ryan Simpson and Ethan Gatenby were in the top five on the day with some intense racing throughout.



Thank you to all those riders and families who braved the bitterly cold weather for coming, also the start and time keeping teams for standing out there all day without even having a rider racing.  We do appreciate your dedication to helping the club and finally to all the committee and behind the scenes helpers who without them the club couldn’t function.



Autos: 1 Kiean Boughen, 2 Callam Murfitt, 3 Ethan Martin, 4 Freddie Wyard, 5 Harvey Cashmore, 6 Bradley French.


Junior 65cc: 1 Ike Carter, 2 Reece Martin, 3 Buster Hart, 4 Tai Elvin-Andrews, 5 Frank Cutmore, 6 Tom Murphy.


Small-wheel 85cc: 1 Dylan Woodcock, 2 Archie Osmaston, 3 Gary Ashley, 4 Perry Galloway, 5 Calum Mitchell, 6 Reagan Brooks.


Big-wheel 85cc: 1 Tommie Schofield, 2 Todd Ritchie, 3 Connor Hughes, 4 Joel’e Hart, 5 Toby Avis, 6 Tommy Pittaway.


Seniors: 1 Oliver Osmaston, 2 Joe Bamfield, 3 Lewis Houghton, 4 Ryan Simpson, 5 Ethan Gatenby, 6 Harry Mills.


AMX: 1 Arron Jenner, 2 Carl Hayward, 3 Rob Nicholl, 4 Dean Hakes, 5 Sean Bardwell, 6 Paul Kilsby.


AMX Open: 1 Ryan Houghton, 2 George Baldwin, 3 Aaron Pipon, 4 Steve Bixby, 5 Harry Mckenna, 6 Junior Thomas.


AMX Vets: 1 Richard Paxman, 2 Lee Scott, 3 Matt French, 4 Adrian Coppen,5 Bob Kavanagh, 6 Andy Thorpe.




Report by Hannah Reed