Hazeley Grange set the scene

Race Report: Richard Rawlins

Images: Darren Allsopp


The Warley Wasps held round 6 of the club championship (round 2 of the Summer) at the superb Hazeley Grange track in Cleobury Mortimer on Sunday.  The flowing technical circuit had several new jumps carved into the terrain as well as a newly levelled start line area which provided an excellent launch-pad for autos through to adults alike.  With the predicted weekend heat, generous watering the night before & early in the morning on race day did its job & soaked into the top soil nicely for practice.  


The Autos action kicked off the first block in fine style with Mckenzie Marshall & Joe Brookes pushing each other hard all the way to the flag showing impressive speed for their young years.  Brookes managed to get the upper hand over Marshall in the 2nd race but in the final encounter a crash while at the front again dropped him down the running order to 5th and Mckenzie Marshall cruised out front to earn another great win ahead of young Jacob Harley in 2nd.  Overall on the podium it ended Marshall taking victory ahead of Harley & Brookes with Jake Davies in 4th & Reece Leverton in 5th.


Junior action with Morgan Evans taking the chequers (2)In the Juniors it was the rapid Morgan Evans setting the pace all day as he showed why he’s becoming the force to be reckoned with in this class.  Jordan Turner & Harvey Cashmore were never far apart as they traded places with each other in the first 2 outings whist contesting the runner up spot.  The speed of these 3 was impressive as they broke away from the chasing pack in each moto.  Evans took a well deserved 1st overall ahead of the charging Turner in 2nd (thanks to his runner spot in the last race) ahead of Cashmore in 3rd, with young Matt Tolley in 4th & Tom Miller in 5th.


The SW85 was a chop and change affair all day.  The accolades for pure out & out speed had to go to Dominic Lancett who put on a superb display by taking the first two races in convincing style from podium regulars Owen Woodhouse & James Hanscomb who themselves were locked in battle, but an unfortunate DNF in the last outing effectively cancelled out his efforts. Woodhouse & Hanscomb did not need any second invitation to take over the front running.  In the end Yamaha mounted Hanscomb’s consistency with three 2nd places was enough for 1st overall ahead of Woodhouse in 2nd and Dylan Woodhall rounding out the podium in 3rd ahead of Marshall Smith 4th & Kyle Biggs in 5th.James Hanscomb whips to SW85 overall victory (2)


10390372_539263059512471_5465942403163818541_sIn the BW85’s, KTM pilot Oliver Consterdine well & truly stamped his authority on this tough class with a maximum points haul.  Behind Consterdine was the ever-charging KTM of Jordan Riley who had to be content with 2nd overall and the fast improving James Bates who claimed the final podium spot with an excellent 2nd place finish in the final outing. Mikey Watson rode great for his 4th overall ahead of Mitch Evans in 5th.


The Seniors action threw up its own share of unexpected events as mechanical gremlins took Jake Ford and his Kawasaki out of race one which was won by KTM rider Kieran Cooke ahead of the fast improving Joe Seedhouse and Jordan Wright on his new Kawasaki.  Ford put on an impressive display of pace to win the remaining two races on a borrowed 125 KTM but the race one DNF had already hurt his chances of a podium.  That left Cooke to take a great overall on the day ahead of Jordan Wright & Jack Biddle rounding out the podium ahead of Joe Seedhouse in 4th (despite taking a heavy crash on the first lap of the final race) and Elliot Hawkes in 5th.10472616_539263046179139_8568758760095924641_s


Suzuki runner Karl Haycock took a great victory in the AMX.  After impressively chasing down & passing the charging Dan Jagielski in both the first & second moto’s, Haycock slipped off on both occasions gifting Jagielski back with lead!  In the final encounter it was Honda mounted Jagielski who made an uncharacteristic slip going down on lap one & having to charge back through the field.  At the front Haycock cruised to the win & 1st overall on the day ahead of Jagielski in 2nd and Jordan Saunders in 3rd ahead of Nick Morris in 4th & Dan Hill in 5th


In the Vets/Evo nobody could live with the pace of Honda mounted Justin Senter riding the 250 two stroke.  Senter made light work of the off cambered circuit, cutting some great lines en route to a superb maximum on the day.  Behind Senter came Brad Nixon in 2nd & the hard charging Richard Chinn in 3rd ahead of Scott Senter 4th & John Gauntlett in 5th.




  1.      McKenzie Marshall
  2.      Jacob Harley
  3.      Joe Brookes
  4.      Jake Davies
  5.      Reece Leverton




  1.      Morgan Evans
  2.      Jordan Turner
  3.      Harvey Cashmore
  4.      Matt Tolley
  5.      Tom Miller




  1.      James Hanscomb
  2.      Luke Woodhouse
  3.      Dylan Woodhall
  4.      Marshall Smith
  5.      Kyle Biggs




  1.      Oliver Consterdine
  2.      Jordan Riley
  3.      James Bates
  4.      Mikey Watson
  5.      Mitch Evans




  1.      Kieran Cooke
  2.      Jordan Wright
  3.      Jack Biddle
  4.      Joe Seedhouse
  5.      Elliot Hawkes




  1.      Karl Haycock
  2.      Dan Jagielski
  3.      Jordan Saunders
  4.      Nick Morris
  5.      Dan Hill




  1.      Justin Senter
  2.      Brad Nixon
  3.      Richard Chinn
  4.      Scott Senter
  5.      John Gauntlett