Sun Shining on the BSMA Finals

The 2013 BSMA Finals were hosted by Cornwall SSC at Little Silver Moto Parc, Devon.  The track was superbly prepared by Robin Griffiths and his team with watering keeping dust to a minimum, racing completed without a hitch, everyone enjoying the glorious sunshine.

GetAttachment (26)Open group saw faultless exhibition by Josh Spinks aboard his Revo Kawasaki, he was unchallenged throughout his 5 races. There was a battle royal behind for podium places, with Oliver Paine leading the challenge with a holes hot in race one, chased all the way to the flag from a strong charging Bradley Doyle.  Race two saw the same result, but Doyle reversed the positions in the next 2 motos it all went to a last heat decider, with Doyle taking the points in 2nd and Paine in 4th. Michael White finishing 4th with some consistent rides well clear of Alex Barnes and Nathan Buckland.

Amx was much more competitive with 3 different race winners.   The hard charging Karl Haycock winning the opening race from Scott Hambridge in a strong 2nd spot with Jack Timms suffering from electrical problems and looking like his weekend was not going to plan. Aboard his Race Spec Sponsor Suzuki Darren Webster finished 3rd and improved as the meeting progressed  winning the next 2 races unchallenged once in front to lead at the end of the day one.  Jack Timms got his act together and took a great win in race 4 with Karl Haycock suffering a DNF spoiling his chances of the championship. He was followed home by Webster, Hambridge and Truman. The last race probably the best in the group with Haycock taking his 2nd win from Jack Timms, with Lee Truman getting the better of Webster late on in the race 4th place was enough to gain him the top spot.  The championship going to Webster ahead on Timms, with Truman in 3rd 2 points ahead of Hambridge with Haycock and Gerwyn Exon equal on points in 5th and 6th.GetAttachment (21)

Seniors next to the line saw Curtis Blamey with a maximum a class act under no pressure all weekend deserved his championship title. Daniel Neale with a couple of runner up spots always looked to be a podium contender but which position was in doubt until the final race as he was equal on points with Robert Yates. Robert was gaining his best start of the weekend went down heavily on the first corner, and had to battle his way back through the pack on his little 125. Neale taking full advantage to take 2nd overall ahead of Yates. These were well clear of Jordan Saunders, Fraser Gardiner and Jake Ford who finished equal on points in 5th and 6th.

GetAttachment (23) Big Wheel pilot Alex Walton looked set to be another maximum man of the weekend when an uncharactistic mistake under no pressure climbing one of the many hills falling in a difficult position to get away from him remount and battle his way back to 5th, he still had enough points in the bag to take the title from a consist ant Jake Curtis Stevens getting a lot of local support, with Tyron Cleaver taking the last race to close the gap to just 2 points at the end of the weekend. Luke Scarsbrook disaster in race 2 recovered to take some top 3 finishes to finish a deserved 4th with Josh Bunter and Michell Warhurst battling for the top 6 positions.

The small wheel 85 championship went to Mr Consistant Dominic Lancett, with just 1 win he was never lower than 3rd to take the overall  Owen Woodhouse not starting very well in his opener improved to a super win in race 4 to finish 2 points in front of 3rd place man Dylan Spencer. Unluckiest man in the group Brooklyn Evans. He started off the weekend with 2 superb wins but then disaster struck with a puncture in race 3 and problem in race 4, he bounced back to take the final moto to finish 4th on the weekend. James Hanscomb and Thomas Andrew making the top 6.GetAttachment (29)

Juniors. This year’s title went to James Smith despite finishing 8th in his opening race he improved to 2nd in the next and completed the weekend with 3 top spots leaving him 10 points clear at the end. Bryn Brookes a complete reversal of form with a good chance of overall until his final encounter when he finished down the field. Ben Watkins winning moto 1 was again in contention but a bed last race saw him finish 3rd just 2 points behind Bryn Brookes, Billy Duke finished a good 4th with 2 top 3 finishes with Harvey Matthews and Jacob Russell 5th and 6th respectively. GetAttachment (24)

Auto were last to compete the weekend with a great battle up front with Charlie Palmer robbed of his maximum in the last race by runner up Freddie Wyard who was consistently 2nd. The most competitive racing seen in the autos for some time saw just 4 points separating the next 3 riders with Tomos Wright edging out Harvey Cashmore and Zac Dunton, Tyler smith finishing 6th.


Thanks to Cornwall club for running a superb event and to our sponsors Pirelli and Doodsons and all the riders and their families for making it such an enjoyable weekend.





1. Charlie Palmer 223

2 Freddie Wyard 217

3 Tomos Wright 197

4 Harvey Cashmore 195

5 Zac Dunton 193

6 Tyler Smith 171

7 Connor Downes 167

8 Kyle Ingram 166

9 Riley Harrison 155

10 Matt Tolley 151


1 James Smith 211

2 Bryn Brookes 201

3 Ben Watkins 199

4 Billy Duke 191

5 Harvey Matthew 187

6 Jacob Russell 180

7. Mathew Harries 177

8 Jack Lindsay 173

9 Kyran Billings 159

10 Thomas Garness 153



1 Dominic Lancett 213

2 Owen Woodhouse 207

3 Dylan Spencer 205

4 Brooklyn Evans 188

5 James Hanscomb 182

6 Thomas Andrews 167

7 Ryan Manley 159

8 Giles Jones 154

9 Scot Davidson 153

10 Joseph Davies 141




1 Alex Walton 217

2 Jake Curtis Stevens 209

3 Tyron Cleaver 207

4 Luke Scarbrook 184

5 Josh Bunter 177

6 Mitchell Warhurst 175

7 Jordan Wright 164

8 Aidan Williams 163

9 Ieuan Morgan 154

10 Joe Cadwallader 146



1 Curtis Blamey 225

2 Daniel Neale 205

3 Robert Yates 193

4 Jordan Saunders 179

5 Fraser Gardiner 175

6 Jake Ford 175

7 Josh Canton 174

8 Josh Bishop 173

9 Jack Biddle 164

10 Joe Tobutt 151




1 Darren WEbster 213

2 Jack Timms 205

3 Lee Truman 197

4 Scott Hambridge 195

5 Karl Haycock 174

6 Gerwyn Exon       174

7 Dain Traylor 170

8 Sean Smith 156

9 Laurie Smith 154

10 James Earl 152




1 Josh Spinks 225

2 Bradley Doyle 211

3 Oliver Paine 207#

4 Michael White 195

5 Alex Barnes 187

6 Nathan Buckland 175

7 Karl Harrison 161

8 Tom Watson 160

9 Sean Doyle 159

10 Russell Hartill 157