Wasps Buzzing at Clifton

The Clifton on Teme circuit in Worcestershire was the latest venue for Round 8 of the Warley Wasps Club Championship (and round 4 of the Summer Series).  Overnight thunder and lightning with heavy rain falling right through until the early hours did not do the freshly power harrowed track any favours, leaving it more than soggy in places, particularly in the bottom of the wooded downhill sections which organisers got straight to work with shovels.

Practice got underway with the adult bikes first out to clear the way (sorry lads – someone had to do it!) and the track surface proved very heavy going early on, even for the 250 & 450F’s as they blasted their way around the circuit.  A slightly shortened track was quickly adapted to suit the Auto’s, Juniors & SW85’s and they too went out to face tough conditions which began to improve steadily as the morning sun warmed temperatures up.   The weather proved kind for the next first two blocks of racing but then another almighty downpour before the last block meant some classes only doing 2 races with the track taking a turn for the worse.

In the Auto’s, young Tyler Smith was young pilot out front coping extremely well with the conditions taking both races in impressive style for the overall on the day ahead of Matt Tolley in second and Joe Brookes in third.  Behind Brookes came Alfie Davies in 4th, Josh Fletcher in 5th.

Sam Davies took a fine overall on the day in the Junior class with 2 great wins ahead of the chasing pack.  Behind Sam came regular podium finishers Ben Watkins in second, Harvey Matthews in third with Archie Collier & Harvey Game in hot pursuit.

In the SW85’s it was certainly Ryan Rowlands day as he also took excellent wins and for overall on the technical rutty track from the hard charging James Bates in second place.  Third place went to usual front runner Joseph Davies with James Hanscomb managing 4th ahead of Jamie Evans in 5th.

BW85 action as Joe Cadwallader flies through a turnBW85’s had to cope with the full track, and that they did that extremely well.  Nathan Bache made an impressive return to racing from injury to take the overall as Joe Cadwallader slipped off in the first race whilst leading.  Callum Evans continued his great run of form over the last few weeks as he also capitalised on Cadwalladers slip to secure 2nd overall on the day.  Joe did recover to take wins on his final two races but the race one result meant he had to settle for third overall on the day.  Taking a great 4th place was Will Bache ahead of Aaron Powell who also put in an excellent ride for his 5th overall on the day.

In the Seniors Jordan Saunders continues to gel with his KTM more & more with each race as he took 3 impressive wins on the day, making the tricky last race conditions in particular look very easy.  Joe Seedhouse has been making some decent accounts of himself recently and again showed some excellent pace to grab second overall ahead of Jake Ford in 3rd and Josh Canton in 4th ahead of Elliot Hawkes in 5th.

In AMX usual front runner Dan Jagielski did not have it all his own way this weekend as Ed Reynolds rode brilliantly to victory in the first two moto’s.  A third place finish in the final outing hurt Reynolds’ chances of the overall and Jagielski didn’t need any invitation to captilise taking the overall on the day.  Karl Haycock also put in some great riding on the Husqvarna for his third place overall ahead of Daniel Ward in fourth and Lee Jones rounding out the top 5.

Vet class riders were treated to the appearance of Matt ‘Flash’ Gordon.  The ex-GP star was untouchable on his 450 Honda in the first two moto’s as he flowed around the circuit with that unmistakeable effortless style honed all those years ago to take victory ahead of another usual podium man, Pete Simmons the ex-AMCA Championship runner on his Kawasaki.  But things took a twist from thereon.  The heavens well and truly opened up again for 10 long minutes before their final outing and so the 2 front runners, perhaps not so surprisingly, decided to call it a day.  That left Andrew Little in prime position to go out and take the last race victory and 1st overall on the day.  Behind Little, Lee Barrett took second overall ahead of Suzuki mounted Richard Evans in 3rd.  Shaun Jenkinson took 4th overall and Gordon with 2 race victories still managed 5th overall on the day.The unmistakeable feet-up style of Matt 'Flash' Gordon


1. Tyler Smith

2. Matt Tolley

3. Joe Brookes

4. Alfie Davies

5. Josh Fletcher


1. Sam Davies

2. Ben Watkins

3. Harvey Matthews

4. Archie Collier

5. Harvey Game


1. Ryan Rowlands

2. James Bates

3. Joseph Davies

4. James Hanscomb

5. Jamie Evans



1. Nathan Bache

2. Callum Evans

3. Joe Cadwallader

4. Will Bache

5. Aaron Powell



1. Jordan Saunders

2. Joe Seedhouse

3. Jake Ford

4. Josh Canton

5. Elliot Hawkes



1. Dan Jagielski

2. Ed Reynolds

3. Karl Haycock

4. Daniel Ward

5. Lee Jones



1.  Andrew Little

2.  Lee Barrett

3.  Richard Evans

4.  Shaun Jenkinson

5.  Matt Gordon